No, I Haven’t Fallen Off the Wagon

Whenever a weight loss blogger stops posting for a while, I always just assume they’ve fallen off the wagon.  And I know it’s been a few weeks since I last posted, but I’m happy to report that no… I haven’t fallen off.  I just haven’t had much time to update, and really haven’t had much to say, to be honest.

The good news is, I’m still slooooowly crawling away from the 200’s and weighed in at 194 this week.  Still a terrible number, I know, but at this point I am happy for any kind of loss I can get.  I’m still working out about 5 times a week (I have been keeping up with my workout log even though I haven’t been blogging) and still staying under my calorie goal and trying to stay low-carb-ish.

So it’s been pretty same ol’ same ol’ as far as the weight loss journey goes.  Life has been pretty busy with the start of the new school year.  My daughter started middle school (still can’t believe I’m old enough to have a middle-schooler) and I started my first class towards my Masters.  I haven’t had to study and write anything intelligent in about 15 years, so that has been an interesting adjustment!

Last weekend my husband and I went on a little “getaway” up to Utah and had a great time.  There was lots of food temptation all over the place up there, but I did pretty well controlling myself.  This journey has been so incredibly long and slow-moving for me, that I often forget how much I’ve actually changed.  While we were in Utah I saw a friend I haven’t seen in about 3-4 years and she literally did not recognize me.  That was a nice little reminder.

Next week we travel to Arkansas to see my stepson get married.  Again, I know we’ll be surrounded by major food temptations, but again… I’ll do my best!  I really want to keep this downward trend going.

On that note, I’ll end with a couple pictures from our Utah trip.  This was in Snow Canyon State Park.  Aren’t the red rocks gorgeous?

Image

Then we hiked down into tubes formed by Lava when a volcano erupted thousands of years ago.  Very very cool.  

Image

I felt like such an adventurer with my headlamp on… ha!  I do have to say it felt great to be able to hoist myself in and out of the giant holes we climbed in to.  The old me probably would not have even tried for fear of getting stuck!

Oh and we went 4-wheeling on some ATV’s, too.  This was me trying to look hard-core.   Didn’t really work, I know.  

Image

 

Anyway… It was a very fun, active weekend and I can’t wait to go back again.  Utah is such a beautiful place!

Leave a Reply

