Stepped outta that comfort zone again!

Image

 

Yup you guessed it…  I tried water aerobics this morning.  To be correct — I actually tried Aqua Zumba this morning!  I still can’t believe I did it.  Don’t you have to be 80 years old to do water aerobics?

But now that the summer is here, my step class instructor has also started teaching an Aqua Zumba class and every time she sees me, she tells me I need to give it a try.  She swears it’s an awesome workout and she always feels sore afterwards (and she teaches fitness classes all the time, so that’s really saying something).  

I have never in my life tried any sort of water aerobics class – mostly because of my fear of looking like a beached whale in public – but she has been pretty convincing.  And as you know, I’ve been working out at least 9-10 times a week lately, and I’m desperate for some variety, so hey why not.  My work schedule was light this morning so I decided to suck it up and give it a try.  I have to admit, I almost backed out a couple times on the ten minute drive to the Y.  If I had brought a change of clothes I probably would have gone in and changed and done a “normal” workout.  But I didn’t.. so there was no turning back.

I was definitely the youngest person there by a good 20 years (and I’m in my late 30’s, so I’m no spring chicken myself), so that made me feel a wee bit out of place.  But all the old ladies were so cute and pretty funny.  One of them heard me talking to my instructor and found out I’d never tried water aerobics before so she kind of ‘latched on’ to me and was showing me how to do everything.  It was really cute.

I have to admit, I felt pretty silly the whole time.  There’s just no way you can’t. Especially when they station a lifeguard at the head of the pool and he’s watching the class, undoubtedly chuckling to himself the whole time.  At the end of the class my instructor said “You were smiling the whole time! You must have loved it!”  I smiled and told her she did a great job, but inside I was thinking yeah I was smiling because I felt like so stupid!

The workout?  
The jury is still out on that one.  It definitely felt light.  Regular Zumba is a great cardio workout, but this was more of a resistance workout.  My heart rate was definitely not pushed up at all. And just like regular Zumba, you could definitely take it easy and make it a super light workout, or you could push yourself a lot harder and make it a pretty decent workout.  I tried to push it as hard as I could.  I’m curious to see if I will feel it at all tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Stepped outta that comfort zone again!

  1. New follower from me! I’ll be intrigued to see if you find it does anything for you tomorrow.. I’ve always thought of water aerobics as a bit of a cop out, but that being said I love being in the water, and they’re some of the only classes held round me where I don’t need to pay a monthly gym subscription, bonus for me!

    🙂 – nice to see someone who sounds real by the way 🙂 most bloggers I’m finding sound more like they’re pushing a sales pitch! Ha 🙂

  2. Thanks for the comment and the follow! I just checked your blog out and became a follower of yours! 🙂 Good luck with your ab challenge. Maybe I should join in on that!
    I’ll let you know if I feel anything tomorrow. I really do have my doubts, though. We’ll see!

  3. I love water aerobics!!! I started with my mom when I was in high school!! Imagine how I felt when that lifeguard was a cute guy my age…hahaha I’m glad you tried this new workout. It’s definitely a break in the monotony of cardio exercises. Keep it up!!! You workout twn times more than I am currently. :-/

  4. Also, my mom is a huge water aerobics fan and has been doing it for years.

    She recently lost 90 lbs through weight watchers. Was water aerobics the key? No. But it was exercise and it was fun for her. Sometimes you do things because they are healthy and fun, not because they make you drop ten pounds quickly.

Leave a Reply

