Swimming Right Outta My Comfort Zone

When we joined the YMCA a couple years ago, one of the things I was most excited about was their beautiful indoor pool.  I pictured myself hitting it up all the time, swimming laps, getting some good workouts in.  Well that was almost 2 years ago, and how many times have I used the pool?  Zero.

“Why?” you ask.  Well… because it intimidated me!  Or more specifically, the people who use the pool intimidated me!  I may have lost some weight, but I still have a long way to go and I’m extremely uncomfortable wearing a bathing suit in public. I also haven’t swam for exercise since I was on the swim team as a little girl.  I wasn’t even sure if I could swim more than a lap without dying.

This is pretty much how I picture myself at the pool:

Image

Well, the past few months I have been challenging myself to shake up my workouts a little bit. I kinda got into a rut with running, and with the really hot weather coming it’s going to become harder to run anyway (except on the treadmill and I hate the treadmill).  But there’s just not a whole lot of variety around these parts.  I love the Y but their gym equipment is super basic — just the usual treadmills, ellipticals and stationary bikes.  They don’t even have a rowing machine, which makes me very sad.  I love taking group classes, but even those are very limited.

So that led me to the thought that I really should give swimming a try. This probably sounds really stupid to you normal people out there, but it took me weeks to psych myself up and get the courage to try.

But I did it!

Last night I finally put on my Target tankini and a pair of my daughter’s swim goggles and hauled my butt down to the Y at 7:30PM (when I calculated the fewest people would be there to witness) and I actually swam laps for the first time in over 20 years.  As you can see… no one was there!  It was the perfect time to go.

 Image

 And guess what — it wasn’t nearly as terrifying as I had made it out to be.  In fact, I’d almost say I enjoyed it!  Don’t get me wrong… it was still exercise and it was pretty boring exercise at that… but it was really nice to get in some variety and to feel some new muscles being worked.

I did 20 laps, which ends up being 500 yards, or only 1/4 a mile, and that took me a half hour.  Yipes.  That sure doesn’t seem like good stats!  But hey I did it and I’m happy I’ve found something to add a bit of variety to my workout routine.  Will I do it all the time?  Probably not… but I can see myself swimming once a week for sure.  My shoulders and back are feeling it today and I like that.

Have you stepped out of your comfort zone lately?  Do you like to swim for exercise?  I’d love to hear your experiences.

5 thoughts on “Swimming Right Outta My Comfort Zone

  1. I was that way when I started swimming at my gym, too. I drug a friend with me the first time I went. I really like swimming though. I think it’s a great way to almost relax and end a workout. Don’t get me wrong; I’m not saying swimmimg isn’t a workout. It definitely is!

Leave a Reply

