I Wonder if I’ll Ever Get a Hang of This ‘Running’ Thing…

Here’s what I don’t get about running…
There are some days (like today) that I go into a run thinking “this is going to be my best run yet!”

I have slept well, the weather is beautiful — not too hot, not too cold, not windy. I’ve had a day of rest since my last run and I’m not feeling too sore or tired.  I have lots of energy and have been mentally prepared for this morning’s run since last night.  I might even say I’m looking forward to it! *gasp*   I ate a healthy, balanced and light breakfast an hour ahead of time. I’m not too full, not hungry, and best of all…I don’t have to pee.  This is going to be great!

Wrong.

Despite the beautiful weather and what I thought was the perfect storm of physical preparation, it took me 45 minutes to run 3.33 miles today.  And trust me there was a lot of walking involved in that ‘run’.  I just couldn’t get into a good grove.  My lungs were burning the whole time and I never felt like I could get enough air.  It felt like concrete blocks were strapped to my feet.

I don’t get it.  Is this normal?  Because it seems to happen with me a lot.  Sometimes runs seem easy and sometimes they seem like 100% pure torture.

On the bright side… I got outside and enjoyed some fresh spring-like air and got my heart rate up for a good 40 minutes.  My muscles got worked, and maybe that’ll make a difference in some future run.

Image

Best of all, I got to spend time with my kid, who is off school today for President’s Day.  She followed me around the trails on her bike (that’s her in the photo) and we had a good time being with each other.  So it wasn’t a total waste.
I’m just so perplexed.

4 thoughts on “I Wonder if I’ll Ever Get a Hang of This ‘Running’ Thing…

  1. Running can be so mysterious, I know exactly what you mean. On Saturday night I had a few glasses of wine and stayed out late, something I don’t normally do the night before a long run. I woke up with a bit of a headache and figured I’d have an awful run. To my complete surprise, I ended up having a really great run! Maybe my body was confused? Other days I’ll do everything right and feel like I’m dying, having really figured it out yet…

  2. For a long time, this was me. I would have a great day of running then a terrible one and never could discern why. For me, the change to getting faster (comparatively, I am still averaging about 10:30 mile pace) was thinking during my entire run go faster, go faster and pushing myself endlessly. Eventually this became easier and second nature for me to do, but for awhile I had to consciously push myself to go faster. I hope this helps. Either way. you’re right, you got outside and did it!

Leave a Reply

