Early Morning Run

Well, on top of feeling very discouraged lately, I also came down with some kind of cold or something and have been feeling very under the weather for a few days now.  But I woke up this morning feeling a lot better so I hauled my butt out of bed before the sun was even up and went out into the cold for a run.

Image

I’m still trying to learn to be a good runner.  I’m very slow, but I’ve built up my endurance quite a bit.  I realized this morning that it was only 7 or 8 months ago that I went for one of my very  first “runs,” and I literally could not run for more than one minute without feeling like I was going to pass out or one of my lungs would explode.  Seriously… it really felt that way.  I would run for 45 seconds or so and be gasping for air.  I hated every single second of it.

This morning I ran for 20 minutes straight before I started feeling a little out of breath…. and that was mostly because I was running uphill (hills are my NEMESIS!!!!!!).  And even when I started feeling a little out of breath, I was able to continue on for another 18 minutes and I only had to stop and walk twice, for two very brief breaks.  I might still be incredibly slow — it took me 38 minutes to go 3 miles — but I’m improving!

It felt great to think about that this morning.  I’m still completely frustrated with this “plateau” I’m stuck on, but I need to remember that it’s not all about the weight loss.  I truly did start this journey to become healthy, not to become thin.

So it was a good run.  And hey I also got to see a beautiful sunrise.  Totally worth getting out of bed for.

2 thoughts on “Early Morning Run

Leave a Reply

